ISLAMABAD - Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan will address joint sitting of the parliament today.

All parliamentary parties except the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)  will participate in the joint sitting.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Leader of the Opposition Syed Khursheed Shah will extend a vote of thanks to the guest after the address.

Erdogan as Turkish prime minister has already addressed the joint session of the parliament in 2012.

National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq will preside over the session and deliver the opening speech. 

“All the treasury benches lawmakers are advised to ensure their presence in the session,” sources in the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) told The Nation.

Other countries’ leaders including Chinese President Xi Jinping, Sri Lankan Prime Minister Sirimavo Bandaranaike, Turkish President Kenan Evran, and Iranian President Ali Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani have addressed the Pakistani parliament.

President Mamnoon Hussain has summoned the joint sitting and a session of the National Assembly on the next day.