Lahore -  Justice Tasadduq Hussain Jillani of the Supreme Court on Saturday took oath as acting chief election commissioner of Pakistan.

Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry administered oath to the acting CEC here at the Supreme Court Lahore Registry.

The oath-taking ceremony was attended by SC judges, Justice Asif Saeed Khosa, Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed, Justice Ijaz Ahmad Chaudhry, Justice Iqbal Hameed-ur-Rehman, and Registrar Dr Faqir Hussain.

Lahore High Court Chief Justice Umar Ata Bandial and LHC judges, Justice Nasir Saeed Sheikh, Justice Sheikh Najum-ul-Hassan, Justice Mamoon-ur-Rashid and Justice Anwarul Haq, ECP Secretary Ishtiaq Ahmad Khan and a large number of lawyers also attended the ceremony.

After taking the oath, the acting CEC said he would ensure fair and free by-elections across the country. He added homework for the by-polls had been completed and the Election Commission would restore the confidence of political parties in the electoral process. Jilani had also performed duty as acting CEC before the appointment of Fakhruddin G Ibrahim. Former Chief Election Commissioner Fakhruddin G Ibrahim had resigned from his post just one day after announcing the new president of the country.