THATTA - Arrangements have been finalised for by-election to PS-84 (Thatta-1) to be held today.

Deputy Commissioner Thatta Muhammad Nawaz Sooho has declared Monday a public holiday in Taluka Thatta on account of bye election to this constituency.

Election campaign has reached its climax here. This seat fell vacant after the resignation of Sindh Minister and MPA Sadiq Memon. There are four active candidates in the field after withdrawals and retirement of other candidates. They are former PPP MPA Sadiq Memon, Manzoor Khushik, Hasan Jakharo and Abdul Wahid Brohi. However, the main contest appears to be between PPP candidate Sadiq Memon and an independent Hasan Jakharo.

 There are total 150052 registered voters that included 80,568 male and 69,484 female voters. There are 156 polling stations with 399 polling booths that included 22 for male and 171 for female voters. Out of these polling stations, 26 have been declared sensitive.  The administration has taken all measures to ensure free and fair polling under strict security.  SSP Waqar Malhan told newsmen that 600 police personnel have been deployed at the polling stations. He said that rangers have also been alerted to be on call in case of any emergency.

Meanwhile polling staff, ballot papers and other election materials were being despatched to respective polling stations under strict security by the office of the Returning Officer and District Election Officer Syed Akram Tariq.