RAWALPINDI – District Election Commission (DEC) Rawalpindi has taken on board the stakeholders to finalize polling scheme for General Elections 2013.

A meeting with the representatives of political parties and other stakeholders to discuss polling scheme for upcoming general elections 2013 was held here the other day. According to District Election Commissioner Zahid Subhani, the political parties have been provided the copies of the draft polling scheme and they have been given seven days to submit proposals and recommendations in this connection. He informed that the polling scheme will finally be approved by District Returning Officer.

The meeting was chaired by Regional Election Commissioner, Zahoor Ahmed Pasha while representatives of Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP), Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-e-Azam, (PML-Q), Pakistan Tahreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Awami Muslim League (AML), Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan (JUP), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI), Jamiat-e-Islami Pakistan and other parties attended the meeting.

The participants were briefed by District Election Commissioner Rawalpindi Zahid Subhani. He told the meeting that total registered voters for seven National Assembly constituencies and 14 provincial assembly constituencies of the district are 260,31,20.  The meeting was informed that a draft polling scheme for the upcoming general elections have been formulated which will be amended and given final shape with the proposals and recommendations of the political parties. He said that the purpose to convene this meeting was to display the draft list of proposed polling stations for upcoming general elections 2013 for information of all the stakeholders and political parties. To hand over draft list of polling stations to the representatives of political parties.    

The meeting was held to invite objections (if any) on the proposed polling stations within seven days and to redress the objections before the announcement of election schedule to make general elections transparent. There are 640509 households in 10 tehsils of the district, he said adding, total registered voters as on electoral rolls 2012 are 2603120 includuing 1403624 (Males) and 1199496 (Females).

Talk for general elections 2013 was prepared which has been discussed with the representatives of the political parties.

He said Rawalpindi district has NA-50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55 and 56 constituencies for National Assembly Seats while for Provincial Assembly seats, there are PP-1 to PP-14 Constituencies for which 136 polling stations including 620 for men and 577 for women, will be made.

He told that 939 combined polling stations will also be for males and females in the district. There will be 4786 polling booths including 2566 for women and 2220 for men in District Rawalpindi, District Election Commissioner told.