ISLAMABAD Islamabads 12-member squad for the National Basketball Championship for the DG Pakistan Rangers (Punjab) Gold Cup was announced here Monday. The National Basketball Championship will be hosted by Pakistan Rangers (Punjab) in collaboration with the Pakistan Basketball Federation at its headquarters in Lahore from May 19 to 28. Islamabad Basketball Association (IBA) secretary John Sturgess, while naming the team, said that Omar Iftikhar would lead the side in the championship while Javed Nawaz Bangash would be his deputy. IBA President Alamgir Khan was also present on the occasion. Other members of the squad are Anwar Khan, Ammad Raja, Rizwan Khurshid, Abdul Wahid, Niddal Bin Tahir, Raja Khalid, Murtaza Ali Shah, Taha Ashraf, Ashhar Hanafi and Haris Zakria. Imran Bashir, who is also the associate secretary of the association, will accompany the team as coach. The draws for the National Championship will be announced at the tournament venue on Tuesday (today). Wapda will defend their title that they won last year by dethroning powerhouse Army. Besides last years finalists, other teams taking part in the 10-day event include Navy, Pakistan Air Force, Habib Bank Limited, Pakistan Ordnance Factories, Pakistan Rangers, Railways, Higher Education Commission, Karachi Electricity Supply Company, Police, Punjab Reds, Punjab Blues, Sindh, Islamabad, Balochistan, Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa and Fata.