PESHAWAR - Amid uproar from Opposition, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly on Monday passed KP Urban Mobility Authority Law for the establishment, regulation and management of modern and sustainable mass transit and urban mobility system in the province.

The KP Assembly met with Deputy Speaker Dr Mahar Taj Roghani in the chair.  The chair didn’t allow head count when joint Opposition members who opposed the law time and again asked for counting. Adviser to the CM on Transport Shah Muhammad Wazir tabled the law.

The Opposition opposed it with loudly “No” when the chair put the law for voice vote. However, the chair said: “as have it the law is passed”. On this occasion, all the Opposition members stood in the House chanting “no no” slogans. They called for head count.

However, Deputy Speaker said now the law has been passed.  Under the law, an authority would be established for mass transit system.

The law empowers the authority to develop the urban transport policies based on quantitative assessments in accordance with international best practices having regard to local conditions. The authority would exercise the jurisdiction over public transport vehicle and route permits within the area of responsibility. Apart from that the authority would be responsible for preparing a road map for a period of five years, plans, strategies, documentation of investment projects in sufficient detail into declared project status for the approval of government, reflecting sound technical analysis, report on achievements during the previous five years.

Moreover, the proposed authority would regulate the charges relevant to its functions, including prescribing of fares and fines for any violation under this act in respect of all forms of vehicles within its area of responsibility.

In addition, a Board of Directors would be set up under the law. The law states that the general direction and administration of the authority and its affairs shall vest with the board.

KP CM would be Chairman of the Board with Minister for Transport and Mass Transit as Co-Chairman.

Secretaries of several government departments, DIG traffic, three MPAs, three eminent persons etc would be members of the board. The term of office of the non-official members would be three years unless resigned or removed by government earlier.

The authority may prohibit or restrict either permanently or temporarily the taking of any class of vehicles or animals or the movement of pedestrians over mass transit area if such prohibition is necessary for the safety the public and mass transit system.

Furthermore, the clause 13 of the law states that the government shall by notification establish a fund vesting in the authority which shall be used by the authority to meet all its expenses and charges in connection with its functions and powers under this act.

The mass transit system would be designed and maintained barrier free access to stations, platforms and fleet.  Likewise, soon after the commencement of this act, the government is bound under the law to establish one or more urban transport companies.

An urban transport company would implement, manage and maintain declared projects as are assigned to it by the authority. Later, the session was adjourned till Tuesday (today) at 3pm.