MIRPUR (AJK)-Returning Officers of all the 41 electoral constituencies of AJK Legislative Assembly on Saturday made public the lists of the eligible candidates after scrutinising their nomination papers for July-21 elections.

Hundreds of candidates belonging to various political parties as well as the independents had filed their nomination papers with the Returning Officers of their respective constituencies.

In Mirpur district, a total of 71 candidates in four electoral constituencies had filed their nomination papers to jump into the elections. All 18 candidates were declared eligible to contest the election. Similarly in electoral constituency of LA-2 (Chaksawari - Mirpur), a total of 18 out of 25 candidates were declared eligible. From LA-3 Mirpur city constituency, a total of 11 out of 13 candidates were declared eligible.

Among those 13 candidates who filed their nomination papers from electoral constituency LA-3 Mirpur city the nomination papers of two candidates identified as Aftab Ahmed and Khalid Farooq were rejected on different grounds.

All the 15 candidates from LA-4 (Khari sharif Mirpur) were declared eligible. Appeals against acceptance or rejection of papers would be lodged on June 22 and their hearing will be held on June 23rd and 24th. Decisions on these appeals will be announced on June 25th and 26th.

The candidates can withdraw their nomination papers on June 27th and final list of candidates will be displayed on June 28th and election symbols will be allotted on June 29th, according to the elections schedule announced by AJK Chief Election Commissioner Justice Ghulam Mustafa Mughal.

There are 2,237, 058 voters including 1,211,842 men and 1,025,216 women in AJK’s 10 districts. For refugees’ 12 constituencies, a total of 444,634 voters will be eligible to exercise their right to franchise. Polling will be held on July 21.

The 12 constituencies are meant for Pakistan-based Jammu Kashmir refugees (to be filled in on direct adult-franchise basis) and 8 reserved seats including five meant for women folk and one each for technocrats, Ulema/Mashaikh and Overseas Kashmiris to be filled in by the electoral college comprising the legislators to be elected on direct adult franchise basis.