HAMBANTOTA (AFP) - Spinner Ajantha Mendis took a record six wickets for just eight runs as hosts Sri Lanka humbled Zimbabwe in the opening match of the World Twenty20 on Tuesday. Mendis, 27, marked his international return after an eight-month injury lay-off with the devastating haul to wreck Zimbabwe for 100 in 17.3 overs in the Group C match in Hambantota.

Zimbabwe could never cope with Mendis's unreadable deliveries and they collapsed like a pack of cards in pursuit of the daunting target of 183 set by Sri Lanka at Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium. Sri Lanka, who lost the toss and were sent into bat, owed their total of 182-4 to Kumar Sangakkara (44) and Jeevan Mendis (43 not out), who shared a 94-run stand for the fourth wicket.

Ajantha Mendis struck two blows in his first over, removing Vusi Sibanda (11) and Zimbabwe skipper Brendan Taylor (0) off successive deliveries. He next had Zimbabwe's top-scorer Hamilton Masakadza (20). He returned for his second spell and took four more wickets to end any lingering Zimbabwean hopes -- and improve his own international Twenty20 record figures of 6-16, set against Australia at Pallekele last year.

Jeevan Mendis took 3-24 to cap an all-round performance. Sangakkara, the newly crowned ICC player of the year, hit a 26-ball 44, studded with a six and two boundaries, while Jeevan Mendis smashed four boundaries and a six during his unbeaten 43 off 30 balls.

Both the left-handers lifted Sri Lanka from 82-3 after they were put into bat. Tillakaratne Dilshan hit five boundaries during his rapid 39 before he fell caught behind by Taylor off leg-spinner Graeme Cremer. Skipper Mahela Jayawardene was run out for 13 while debutant Dilshan Munaweera made 17. Twelve teams competing in the event are divided in four groups, with the top two teams advancing to the Super Eight stage, which will decide the four semi-finalists. Australia take on Ireland in Group B while former champions India face Afghanistan in Group A -- both matches in Colombo -- on Wednesday. Sri Lanka are bidding to end their 16-year wait for a second major title after winning the 50-over World Cup in 1996.



D Munaweera run out    17

T Dilshan c Taylor b Cremer    39

M Jayawardene run out    13

K Sangakkara run out    44

J Mendis not out    43

T Perera not out    6

EXTRAS: (b4, lb6, nb3, w7)    20

TOTAL: (four wkts; 20 overs)    182

FOW: 1-54, 2-75, 3-82, 4-176

BOWLING: Jarvis 4-0-31-0, Vitori 3-0-27-0, Utseya 4-0-25-0, Mpofu 4-0-49-0, Cremer 4-0-27-1, Chigumbura 1-0-13-0


H Masakadza b A Mendis    20

V Sibanda b A Mendis    11

B Taylor st Sangakkara b A Mendis    0

E Chigumbura b A Mendis    19

C Ervine st Sangakkara b J Mendis    10

M Waller lbw b J Mendis    0

G Cremer b J Mendis    17

P Utseya c Jayawardene b A Mendis    1

K Jarvis lbw b A Mendis    0

B Vitori not out    7

C Mpofu c sub b Malinga    0

EXTRAS: (lb9, w6)    15

TOTAL: (all out; 17.3 overs)    100

FOW:  1-37, 2-37, 3-43, 4-58, 5-58, 6-80, 7-87, 8-87, 9-93

BOWLING: Kulasekara 3-0-16-0, Malinga 2.3-0-20-1, A Mendis 4-2-8-6, Mathews 2-0-7-0, Perera 2-0-16-0, J Mendis 4-0-24-3

TOSS: Zimbabwe

UMPIRES: R Tucker (Aus), I Gould (Eng)

TV UMPIRE: R Kettleborough (Eng)