Lahore Qalandars jump to the second number on points table after beating Islamabad United by one wicket, in a nail-biting 14th fixture of Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2017 being played at Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Lahore Qalandars won the toss and elected to field first.

Batting first, Islamabad United managed to score 145 runs in the given 20 overs after the top-order collapsed hence losing early wickets.

United's first wicket dropped in the 4th over when Rafatullah Mohmand was caught out by Mohammad Rizwan on a good length, angled down towards the leg side delivery of Aamer Yamin. He scored 18 runs of 13 deliveries, including two sixes.

The next one to be dismissed was Haddin in the very next over by Aamer Yamin. This time his ball directly hit the stumps. He could score just one run facing six balls.

Aamer Yamin was good with the ball as he dismissed three batsmen giving only 17 runs in four overs.

The top-scorer by the side was Shadab Khan who put 42 runs on board with a strike rate of 175.

CS Delport and skipper McCullum opened the bat from Lahore's side. They gave an opening stand of 27 runs while chasing 146-runs target.

Heroic Umar Akmal stood firm after Lahore Qalandars top-order was shaken. He played a brilliant inning of 66 runs hitting 3 sixes and 8 fours. He got out on a Leg By Wicket (LBW) by Shadab Khan in the 17th over.

Grant Elliott finished the match in most stylish way, hitting a six off the second delivery of last over just after Aamer Yamin got out. He did his job, raised the bat and then dropped it, and walked off the crease.

Umar Akmal was the Man of the Match.


Islamabad United:

DR Smith, Rafatullah Mohmand, BJ Haddin (wk), B Duckett, Misbah-ul-Haq (c), S Watson, Amad Butt, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Irfan, Rumman Raees

Lahore Qalandars:

Fakhar Zaman, B McCullum (c), CS Delport, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan(wk), Grant Elliott, S Narine, Aamer Yamin Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Irfan Jr, Yasir Shah