ISLAMABAD - Amjed Aziz Malik and Zahid Farooq Malik were elected unopposed as president and secretary of Pakistan Sports Writers Federation (PSWF) in the elections held here at a local hotel on Thursday.

Rawalpindi Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA) hosted the elections, in which 37 delegates from Fata, KP, AJK, Balochistan, SJAS, SWAP and RISJA participated while AIPS Asia chapter president M Qasim and senior vice president M Haji also arrived on the special invitation of RISJA president Mohsin Ali and secretary Shakir Ababsi.

Nasar Iqbal was elected senior vice president, Syed Ali Hashmi vice president, Shahzad Malik finance secretary and Ijaz Khan and Asghar joint secretaries. Mohsin Ali, Shakir Abbasi, Sohail Ali, Asher Butt, Jahanzaib Siddiqui, Imran Yousafzai, Azmat Ullah, Shakeel Ur Rehman, Saiful Islam, Hanif Ullah, Irfan Rana, Arif Mehmood, Rana Ajmal, Irshad Ali, Nasir Ahmed, Imtiaz Ahmed and Naseem Hameed were elected unopposed as executive committee members, while Syed Wafa Abbas, Wasim Razzaq, Rana Tanveer Javed, Shah Khalid, Nauman Maqsood, Zulfiqar Baig, Afzal Javed, Shahryar Khan were also inducted in different AIPS committees as well.

Amjed Aziz MAlik congratulated RISJA for hosting such a wonderful event and all the delegates lauded the association for their hospitality. “It is a historic occasion that the entire members for next four years were elected unopposed, which shows complete unity amongst all the affiliated units of the PSWF. I promise to make the PSWF more active and to send young especially female journalists for international events.” Zahid Malik also thanked the house for posing confidence in him. He assured to take all stake holders on board and would make all the decisions with mutual consent. Amjed presented a resolution creating chairman post and appointed senior journalist Shahid Sheikh as chairman, which was unanimously approved by the house.

PFUJ president Afzal Butt, Pakistan Taekwando Federation (PTWF) women wing president Saba Shamim, Pakistan Sports Board Employees Union (PSBEU) president Nadeem Chaudhry, secretary Akram Bhatti, Arif Nawaz, CDA’s Director Sana Ullah Aman, Asghar Ali Mubarik, Ali Hashmi along with other dignitaries were also present on the occasion.

The newly-elected office-bearers meeting was held where different decisions were made. The committees were announced formally and were given assigned different task. It was stressed to promote female journalists at all levels and ensured at least 20 percent representation of female journalists in the PSWF. It was also decided that next general council meeting would be held in Quetta and Karachi would host meeting in April next year.

Federal Information Minister Senator Pervaiz Rasheed was due to be the chief guest on the occasion, but due to a high-level meeting in the PM House, he could not attend the ceremony. AIPS Asia president M Qasim congratulated the newly-elected PSWF president and secretary and announced Rs 250,000 grant as token of appreciation. He lauded RISJA for holding such a wonderful event, which was at par to international standards and also promised to come back whenever he was invited.