LAHORE - Openers Khurram Manzoor and Sami Aslam slammed superb centuries to steer Sindh to tremendous 42-run triumph over struggling Balochistan in the rain-hit third match of the Pakistan Cup 2016 played at Iqbal Stadium.

According to information made available here on Thursday, Balochistan’s run chase was not up-the-the-mark as they lost early wickets and were struggling at 3-39. They kept on losing wickets on regular intervals but in the end, Saeed Ajmal gave support to opener Azhar Ali but it was too little too late situation as they fell short of 42 run when the allotted 31 overs were completed under D/L method.

Only Azhar Ali played well and made unbeaten 100 while rest of the players couldn’t perform well.

Earlier electing to bat first, Sindh were off to flying start and collected 148 runs for the first-wicket partnership. Khurram Manzoor was the first Sindh batsman who was shown the pavilion by Saeed Ajmal at his individual score of 100. After that, youngster Sami Aslam played with authority and not only helped the team post a decent total of 266 runs in 5 overs but also gathered 108 personal runs.

Sami was ably assisted by captain Sarfraz Ahmad (22) and Khalid Latif (21). Only Ajmal bowled well getting two scalps.

During the match in the 40th over, umpire Khalid Mahmood had to leave his duty due to the sad news of his sister’s death and TV umpire Ahsan Raza replaced him as field umpire. Khuram Manzoor was named man of the match.



Khurram Manzoor c Shahid b Ajmal 100

Sami Aslam not out 108

Khalid Latif c Shahid b Tanvir 21

Sohaib Maqsood b Umar Gul 8

Fawad Alam lbw b Ajmal 4

Sarfraz Ahmed not out 22

EXTRAS: (lb 1, w 2) 3

TOTAL: (4 wickets; 45 overs) 266

FOW: 1-148, 2-191, 3-217, 4-227

BOWLING: Sohail Tanvir 8-1-21-1, Saeed Ajmal 10-0-62-2, Junaid Khan 8-0-54-0, Umar Gul 8-0-47-1, M Nawaz (3) 6-0-43-0, Azhar Ali 5-0-38-0.


Azhar Ali not out 100

M Nawaz (3) lbw b Sohail Khan 0

Babar Azam c Khalid b Anwar Ali 13

Umar Akmal b Fawad Alam 10

Sohail Tanvir c Sarfraz b Bilal Asif 19

Shahid Yousuf c Sarfraz b Aamir 5

M Hasan c Sarfraz b Aamir 5

Ghulam Haider b Hasan Khan 10

Umar Gul c sub b Anwar Ali 5

Saeed Ajmal not out 7

EXTRAS: (lb 3, w 8, nb 1) 12

TOTAL: (8 wickets; 31 overs) 186

FOW: 1-1, 2-23, 3-39, 4-73, 5-89, 6-96, 7-112, 8-120

BOWLING: Sohail Khan 6-0-30-1, M Aamir 4-0-19-2, Anwar Ali 5-0-39-2, Hasan Khan 7-0-38-1, Fawad Alam 3-0-15-1, Bilal Asif 6-0-42-1.

TOSS: Sindh