Eighteen of the 48 members of the PTI district executive council resigned from the party against not awarding the party ticket to daughter of late MPA Pir Ali Raza for by-election to PP-89 scheduled to be held on Jan 6.

Talking to the media, they alleged that under a conspiracy, PTI Chief Organiser Ch Sarwar, Ch Ashfaq and district leadership awarded the party ticket to Rana Shafiq who, they said, would stand third in the election. “The real contest is between PML-N candidate Pir Ali Baba and Ms Sonia Raza, the daughter of late MPA Pir Ali Raza and voting for PP-89 will prove their apprehensions,” they claimed.

The PTI leaders included former district president Dr Waheed Akbar, former district secretary Advocate Zahid Iqbal, Kamalia tehsil organiser Ghulam Mustafa Chattha, former youth wing president Habib Haris, Salim Kainth, Rai Zubairullah, Rafiq Mumbar, Rana Mubashir, Abid Marth and Dr Iftikhar Anjum.

They also condemned the issuance of ‘so-called’ show cause notice to Riaz Fatyana and said that they are standing with Fatyana who is a staunch PTI leader. They urged party chief Imran Khan to cancel the party ticket awarded to Rana Shafiq and declare the party support to Ms Sonia Raza.