Islamabad - The newly elected office-bearers in the local government elections of Islamabad Capital Territory will take oath of their offices today (Tuesday).

According to an official of the ECP, three district and sessions judges would take oath from 636 newly elected members. The oath taking ceremony would be held at Convention Centre Islamabad at 11:00am, he added.

The ECP has also asked to all newly elected members to bring their original computerized national identity card (CNIC) with them for taking oath, he informed.

It may be mentioned here that ECP had issued the notification of successful candidates on December 7.

Residents of Islamabad went to the polls on November 30, 2015 amidst tight security to elect local representatives for the first time under the newly-minted Islamabad Local Government Act, 2015. The last such exercise was held under military rule in 1979 on a non-party basis and was limited to rural areas only.

Islamabad, which now has a population of around two million, was divided into 50 union councils for the polls. Around 2,407 candidates took part in the elections, of which 972 were independent candidates, 506 belonged to PML-N, 479 to PTI, 164 to Jamaat-i-Islami and 81 to the PPP, according to the Election Commission of Pakistan.