Islamabad - The Pakistan Medical and Dental Council (PM&DC) has notified the recently elected members.

According to the notification, Prof Dr Ibrar Ashraf, Dr Basir Ali Khan, Dr Ejaz Hassan Khan, Dr Shabbir Lehri, Maj Gen Khaliq Naveed and Dr Ahmed Hussain have been elected from ’of public and private medical colleges. No council member was elected from FATA as there is no medical college in the area.

While the general practitioners elected as council members include Dr Aamir Hussain, Dr Mussadiq Khan, Jamalud Din Shaikh, Dr Mussarat Hussain, Dr Shafiqur Rehman, Dr Khayalur Rehman, Imran Naseer, Dr Farrukh Ijaz, Dr M Feroz Jehangir, Dr Muhammad Haroon, Dr Abdul Samad Mengal, and Dr Taj Muhammad.

The PMDC has forwarded the list of elected council members to the federal government to be notified in the official gazette. It has also written to the government to call the first meeting for the purpose of electing the executive committee, president and the vice president of PM&DC.

The PM&DC held its elections on December 5 wherein doctors across the country except Punjab voted to elect 35-member council of PMDC. The elections were held in Balochistan, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Federally Administered Tribal Areas and Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT) except Punjab due to local government elections there. Later on, after the local government elections, elections were held in Punjab for the election of council members.

The elections were held for the first time under the chairmanship of nominee of the chief justice Supreme Court of Pakistan and an election committee.

Previous council of the regulatory body that oversees medical education in Pakistan was dissolved by the President of Pakistan in August last due to various controversies. Subsequently, a new management committee was named to hold elections for a new council within three months.

Among the 35 members of the council of PMDC, 20 members are elected through elections and 15 are nominated by various government institutions, including Parliament House, Supreme Court and hospitals.

The elected council will subsequently elect executive committee comprising 7 to 10 member that will choose president and vice-president of PM&DC to run the regulatory body.

The Supreme Court of Pakistan has already nominated Justice Tariq Pervaiz as its member for the council while the other organisations are yet to nominate their representatives.