ISLAMABAD - While rumors and speculations about nominees for new Prime Minister slot continued, five lawmakers from three political parties filed their nomination papers.Among the nominees, three legislators having political affiliation with ruling party (PPP) are from the Punjab province, while one each from largest opposition party (PML-N) and second largest opposition party (JUI-F).Like past where most prime ministers came from Punjab, the future PM is also most likely from this province, because of enjoying more strength as compared to the other candidates from opposition benches.Qamar Zaman Kaira from PPP

Qamar Zaman Kaira from PPP turned up a day ago as nominee for Prime Minister slot.Qamar Zaman Kaira, born on January 5, 1960 at Kharian (Punjab), was federal Information Minister in the recently dissolved federal cabinet.This was his second term as Information Minister, having previously held the office from 2009 to 2011. He has also served as Federal Minister for Kashmir Affairs and Northern Areas and acting Governor of Gilgit-Baltistan. Kaira was elected to the lower house and became a minister in the coalition government of PPP, ANP, MQM and JUI-F formed after 2008 elections. The senior leader of PPP was selected to the office of Federal Minister for Kashmir Affairs and Northern Areas on March 31, 2008, and was given the additional office of Federal Minister for Information on March 14, 2009.In the cabinet of former Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani, he twice served a federal minister for information as in second tenure he remained as Information minister from April 18, 2012 to 17th June 2012. From March 31, 2008 to February 9, 2011, he was federal minister for Kashmir Affairs and Northern Areas (KANA). He had his primary education from his local school at Lalamusa (Punjab). He passed his intermediate examinations from FG Degree College Kharian Cantt. He graduated from Forman Christian College University and did his Masters of Arts (Philosophy) from University of the Punjab, Lahore. He also has a Masters degree in Political Sciences.Makhdoom Shahabuddin from PPP

Another member from PPP, Makhdoom Shahabuddin was born on 7 April 1947, belongs to Rahim Yar Khan, a city in the Saraiki belt of Southern Punjab.On 19 June 2012, in the aftermath of former Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani’s conviction and disqualification by apex court on contempt of court charges, Makhdoom Shahabuddin has been appointed as candidate for the office of Prime Minister. The veteran politician, a descendant of a famous Sufi saint, a member of National Assembly (NA) has held federal ministerial portfolios for finance, health and textiles. Though no formal announcement was made, but the rumors in media kept surrounding that Makhdoom Shahabuddin paper was dropped after a local court of Rawalpindi issued his un-bail able warrant in ephedrine case.Raja Pervez Ashraf from PPP

The third lawmaker from PPP, Raja Pervez Ashraf, was born in Sanghar Sindh on December 26, 1950. He is a senior leader of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) from Rawalpindi district. He has been twice elected as a Member of the National Assembly (MNA) from his constituency of Gujar Khan, Rawalpindi District. He then became the Federal Minister in the coalition government of PPP, ANP, PML(N) and JUI-F. In the cabinet of former Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani, Raja Pervez Ashraf remained as minister for water and power from March 2008 to February 2011. He was minister for Information Technology (IT) in the recently dissolved federal cabinet. Raja Pervez Ashraf has also serious corruption allegation for receiving kickbacks in Rental Power Projects (RPP).Sardar Mehtab Ahmed from PML (N)

The nominee from largest opposition party (PML-N), Sardar Mehtab Ahmed Khan was born on 15 December 1952 in Malkot. The senior member of PML-N belongs to a Hindko speaking family and is a former Chief Minister of Khyber Pakhtun Khwa (KPK) (1997 to 1999) and ex-Minister for Railways. The senior vice president of the party has served as a senator, but resigned on March 17, 2008, when he won the NA-17 Abbottabad-I National Assembly seat in the 2008 general elections of 2008. Mehtab Ahmed Khan passed matriculation from Govt High School Murree and graduated from Sir Syed School in Rawalpindi. Mehtab Ahmed Khan became the 22nd chief minister of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK) on the 21 February 1997, taking over from Raja Sikandar Zaman, and served until 12 October 1999.Mehtab Ahmed Khan did not contest the general elections in 2002 for National Assembly, and therefore had to settle as a Senator in the March 2003 - March 2009 tenure. In the 2008 general elections, Mehtab Ahmed Khan won NA-17 Abbottabad seat, and hence vacated the Senate seat. He also won the PF-45 provincial assembly seat. Maulana Fazlur Rahman from JUI-F

The last but not least nominee, Maulana Fazalur Rahman, born in June 1953 , hails from Dera Ismail Khan, is currently serving as president of the second largest opposition party in the National Assembly. He rose to national politics in 1988. He has been a traditionally strong ally of Benazir Bhutto (former prime minister) since 1988. After Benazir Bhutto departed from Pakistan in 1998, the religio-political leader acted as interim leader of the opposition until 1999. After the 2002 elections, he took the office of leader of opposition where he worked with Benazir Bhutto. Since the 2008 parliamentary elections, he had been an integral personality in former PM Gilani-led federal cabinet  Fazl-ur-Rehman inherited from his father public support in their native area of Dera Ismail Khan. Of the four general elections that Fazl contested since 1988 from his national assembly constituency, NA-18, he won twice with convincing margins.Fazl-ur-Rahman remained in the camp of the political alliances and parties that were opposed to Nawaz League. Only once did he contest the election in alliance with the PML, in 1990, and then too he lost. He was appointed as chairman of the parliamentary committee on foreign affairs in the second government of Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto. He was Leader of the Opposition between 2004-2007, as he was leading a sizable contingent of opposition parliamentarians (mainly from MMA).