ISLAMABAD - PML-N's four members on the parliamentary committee from the opposition side on Thursday briefed party chief Mian Nawaz Sharif about the two-day proceedings of the bipartisan body which is yet to reach a consensus on one name for the slot of caretaker prime minister.

According to sources in the PML-N, the four members, Sardar Mehtab Khan Abbasi, Pervaiz Rasheed, Khawaja Saad Rafique and Sardar Yaqoob Nasir, after holding a meeting with the government side, informed their party chief about all the reservations of the government bloc. Sharing the proceedings of the parliamentary committee, sources said, the four PML-N leaders told the party chief the government team had reservations on the nominee of Justice (retired) Nasir Aslam Zahid from their side.

The members of the committee, who will defend the reservations of the government side in final meeting on Friday (today), also informed him about their counterattack on the name of Dr Ishrat Hussain, proposed from the government side.

The PML-N chief, added the sources, asked them to fully defend the accusation levelled by the government side on the name of Justice (retired) Nasir Aslam Zahid in tomorrow's (Friday) meeting.

The eight-member bipartisan parliamentary committee is represented by Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Khursheed Shah, Ghulam Ahmed Bilour and Farooq H Naek from the government side, while Pervaiz Rasheed, Sardar Mehtab Khan Abbasi, Khawaja Saad Rafique and Sardar Yaqoob Khan are representing the opposition.

The government bloc proposed the names of Dr Ishrat Husain and Justice (retired) Mir Hazar Khan Khoso, while the PML-N gave the names of Justice (retired) Nasir Aslam Zahid and Rasool Bakhsh Palijo for the slot of caretaker premier.

Just a single day is left for the parliamentary committee, formulated by the National Assembly speaker Dr Fehmida Mirza, to appoint a caretaker prime minister. If the committee fails to make a decision on Friday, the matter will be sent to the Election Commission of Pakistan which will then have two days time to appoint a caretaker premier.

In its two days proceedings, the parliamentary committee discussed the credentials of Justice (retired) Mir Hazar Khan Khoso and Rasool Bakhsh Palijo, Justice (retired) Nasir Aslam Zahid and Dr Ishrat Hussain could not reach on any consensus.