COLOMBO (AFP) - Fast bowler Lasith Malinga took a record third hat-trick as Sri Lanka secured a consolation four-wicket victory over Australia in the fifth and final one-day international on Monday. Malinga removed Mitchell Johnson, John Hastings and Xavier Doherty to become the first bowler to take three hat-tricks in one-dayers as Sri Lanka dismissed Australia for 211 before achieving the target with three overs to spare. Paceman James Pattinson and left-arm spinner Doherty bagged two wickets each for Australia, who clinched the series 3-2. Australia, who had an unbeatable 3-1 lead before the match, were comfortably placed at 210-5 before losing their last five wickets for just one run, with Malinga doing the maximum damage to finish with 3-35 off eight overs. Malinga, known for bowling accurate yorkers with a slinging action, had earlier taken hat-tricks in two World Cups -- against South Africa in 2007 and Kenya in 2011. Sri Lanka's batsmen stuttered to 33-3 at the start of their innings with Pattinson taking two wickets in his opening spell, but Mahela Jayawardene (71) and Chamara Silva (63) put on 111 for the fourth wicket to prop up the innings. Silva, who hit one six and eight fours in his 71-ball knock, was dismissed just before rain stopped play but Jayawardene and Angelo Mathews (26) ensured win when the game resumed with a 51-run stand for the fifth wicket. Malinga was earlier superbly supported by unorthodox spinner Ajantha Mendis (3-49) and seamer Shaminda Eranga (2-45). Opener Shane Watson top-scored for Australia with an 84-ball 56, which contained one six and six fours. Skipper Michael Clarke (47), David Hussey (46) and Ricky Ponting (31) were the other main scorers. Australia lost opener Shaun Marsh in the second over after being put in to bat, but Watson steadied the innings with two useful stands. ScoreCard AUSTRALIA: S Watson c Tharanga b A Mendis 56 S Marsh b Eranga 2 R Ponting c sub (S Randiv) b Mathews 31 MJ Clarke c Sangakkara b Eranga 47 MEK Hussey c Sangakkara b Prasanna 6 DJ Hussey b A Mendis 46 BJ Haddin c Jayawardene b A Mendis 8 MG Johnson b Malinga 1 JW Hastings lbw b Malinga 0 XJ Doherty b Malinga 0 JL Pattinson not out 0 EXTRAS: (b2, lb2, w8, nb2) 14 TOTAL: (all out; 46.1 overs) 211 FOW: 1-4, 2-71, 3-127, 4-146, 5-167, 6-210, 7-211, 8-211, 9-211, 10-211 BOWLING: Malinga 8-2-35-3 (nb2, w2), Eranga 8-2-45-2 (w5), Prasanna 10-1-37-1, Mathews 3-0-6-1, J. Mendis 8-0-35-0, A. Mendis 9.1-0-49-3 (w1). Sri Lanka: U Tharanga b Haddin b Johnson 0 T Dilshan b Pattinson 17 K Sangakkara c Haddin b Pattinson 7 M Jayawardene c D. Hussey b Doherty 71 C Silva c Hastings b Doherty 63 A Mathews c Doherty b Watson 26 J Mendis not out 7 S Eranga not out 0 Extras: (lb7, w15) 22 Total: (for six wickets; 47 overs) 213 FOW: 1-4, 2-12, 3-33, 4-144, 5-195, 6-209. Bowling: Johnson 10-0-45-1 (w4), Pattinson 10-1-41-2 (w1), Doherty 10-0-54-2, Hastings 10-0-28-0 (w8), Watson 6-0-33-1 (w2), D. Hussey 1-0-5-0. Result: Sri Lanka win by four wickets Series result: Australia clinch five-match series 3-2 Umpires: Asad Rauf and Ranmore Martinesz