MIRPUR (AJK) - In a keenly-contested electoral fight, PML-N nominee Barrister Iftikhar Hussain Gillani Thursday won the bye-election to LA-26 (Muzaffarabad-III) seat of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) Legislative Assembly with a thumping majority. Barrister Iftikhar defeated his closets rival and joint candidate of Muslim Conference and PPAJK Sardar Usman Attique Khan with a huge margin of 8,848 votes. When contacted, the AJK election commission sources told The Nation from Muzaffarabad Thursday night that according to unofficial results the number of votes landed at the AJK EC, PML-N candidate Barrister Iftikhar Hussain Gillani emerged victorious with 22,691 votes against Usman Attique, who bagged 13,843 votes. Usman is a son of outgoing AJK Prime Minister Sardar Attique Ahmed Khan. Official results of the bye-election will be announced by the AJK election commission soon. The number of votes secured by an independent candidate, Anjam Nisar Mir, in the election was being awaited. The bye-election was held on Thursday in a free, fair and transparent manner and in a peaceful atmosphere. The polling started at stipulated time in the morning and continued till the closing time in the evening without any pause. No unfortunate incident was reported from any part of the constituency.