KARACHI - Indian cueists continued their fantastic run in 2014 by winning a gold medal in the recently- concluded Asian Snooker Team championship here.

The Indian team consisting Kamal Chawla, Faisal Khan and Dharminder Lilly outclassed the highly accomplished duo of M Asif (former IBSF World Snooker champion) and M Sajjad (former Asian Snooker champion) of Pakistan by 3 frames to 1 in a best of 5 frame final.

Local favourites and title contenders Asif and Sajjad were subdued by Chawla and Khan's barrage of big breaks.

Earlier in the semifinals, India thrashed Iran by an identical margin (3-1). The mighty Iranians' Amir Sarkosh and current World Under 21 snooker champion Hossein Vafaei Ayouri were helpless against the aggressive display by Chawla and Khan.

Final Resultss:

India A beat Pakistan 'A' 3-1

Faisal Khan beat M Asif 106 (81)-00

Kamal Chawla beat M Sajjad 91 (91)-06

Chawla/Dharminder Lilly lost to Asif/ Sajjad 42-67

Faisal Khan beat Sajjad 83 (50)-43.