LAHORE - On the occasion of Pakistan Day, Punjab Governor Salmaan Taseer, on behalf of the president, conferred civil awards to 29 persons showing outstanding performance in different fields at a simple but impressive ceremony held at Governors House here on Tuesday. Punjab Chief Secretary Nasir Mahmood Khosa read out brief citation of each recipient of the civil award on the occasion. Senior civil and military officers, distinguished citizens and provincial ministers belonging to the PPP attended the ceremony. As expected, no PML-N minister turned up on the occasion. Commissioner Lahore Division Khusro Pervaiz and DCO Lahore Sajjad Bhutta also opted to stay away from the award distribution function. Of the 29 recipients of different awards, 10 were conferred with Sitara-e-Imtiaz, eight got presidential pride of performance award, while 11 were awarded Tamgha-e-Imtiaz. Among those awarded Tamgha-e-Imtiaz included:renowned educationist Prof Ayesha Jallal, intellectual Hassan Askari Rizvi, noted photographer Fostein Almer Ch, actor, late Syed Mosa Raza (Known as Santoash Kumar), noted broadcaster, late Syed Salim Gilani, renowned calligrapher, late Muhammad Hanif Ramay, social worker, Dr Muhammad Amjad Saqib, noted scholar, Dr Rasool Bakhsh Raees and Dr Zaheeruddin Awan. The following personalities associated with the filed of literature and culture were awarded presidential pride of performance award. Zulfiqar Ali, Hameed Akhtar, Mohtarma Afzal Tauseef, Maqsood Asher, Maqsood Mufti, Dr Inamul Haq Javed, Shahid Mahmood Nadeem and Zakauddin from the world of sports. Tamgha-e-Imtiaz was conferred on Maqsood Ahmad (Physics), Dr Muhammad Sajid (Math), Dr Muhammad Iqbal (Science), Dr Masood Sadiq (Tib), Sajjad Haider Kishour (Art), Ustad Abdul Latif Khan (Music), Dr Kanwal Feroaz (Literature), Dr Tahir Taunsvi (Literature), Aashiq Buzdar (Poetry), Faisal Mahmood (Taekwondo) and Shafqar Rana (Sports).