PESHAWAR - On behalf of President Mamnoon Hussain, Governor Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Engineer Shaukatullah honoured nine personalities of the province with Tamgha-e-Imtiaz in recognition of their illustrious achievements in different disciplines at a ceremony held here at the Governor’s House on Sunday.

Some of the members of the provincial cabinet, parliamentarians both from the province and FATA, senior government officials, and relatives and well-wishers of the recipients of national award attended the ceremony. Prof Dr Amin Badshah and Prof Dr Jasmin Shah achieved the honour for their remarkable achievements in the field of science and chemistry respectively, while Prof Dr Zahoor Ahmad Swati got Tamgha-e-Imtiaz in acknowledgement of his extraordinary research contribution in the field of agriculture and plants. Similarly, Dr Sharifullah achieved the honour for his valuable achievements in the field of computer science, whereas Akhtar Naeem Khan achieved the honour in recognition of his distinctive services in the field of education. In the field of music, Nazir Gul was honoured with Tamgha-e-Imtiaz while Prof Dr Nazir Ahmad Tabassam got the honour for his valuable contribution in the discipline of Urdu literature. Moreover, in the field of services, Dr Bakht Jamal and Dr Muhammad Naeem were honoured with Tamgha-e-Imtiaz in acknowledgement of selfless, devoted and courageous role and performance for the people of Swat and Shangla when the situation was extremely difficult. The governor congratulated the recipients of national awards.