Newly-elected independent candidate from PK-107 Khyber Shafiq Afridi on Thursday joined Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

Afridi won the PK-107 Khyber 3 seat by securing 9,796 votes, whereas Independent candidate Hameedullah Jan Afridi had managed to secure 8,428 

votes in the recently held tribal polls for the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) assembly seats.

Afridi made the announcement after meeting PTI’s senior leader Jahangir Tareen and Chief Minister KP Mehmood Khan.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had won five seats in the landmark elections of the region since losing the semi-autonomous status it had held since the British colonial era for the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in the merged tribal districts.

As per unofficial results published by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), independent candidates had won six of the 16 general seats, while Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) grabbed three seats, Awami National Party (ANP) and Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) clinched one seat each.

However, two major political parties, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) failed to win even a single seat in the tribal areas.