LAHORE - The whole drama of Sharif brothers' qualification started with their return to the country after eight years exile two days before the general elections. Both Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif had submitted their nomination papers but the Returning Officers (sessions judges) rejected their them on the grounds that Nawaz was a convicted person in hijacking and tax evading cases while Shahbaz was disqualified for his alleged involvement in the Sabzazar encounter case. The Sharif brothers had not challenged their disqualification in the Lahore High Court because they had declined to appear before PCO judges. However, they made representation before the chief election commissioner who turned it down saying that their eligibility could only be decided by a competent forum. The elections were scheduled to be held on January 8, 2008 but they were rescheduled for February 18 due to assassination of PPP's head Benazir Bhutto. As a result of February 18 elections, PML-N and PPP formed a coalition government while Shahbaz Sharif was acquitted in Sabzazar case. When the by-election approached both the Sharifs again tried their fate and this time ROs accepted their nomination papers despite the fact that objections were filed against their candidatures. Noor Elahi and Khurrum Shah challenged ROs decisions in appellate tribunal of the LHC. The tribunal comprising Justice Akram Qureshi and Justice Hafiz Tariq Nasim gave a split decision that paved way for Sharifs to contest election for the time being. The Chief Election Commission allowed them to contest election on the ground that the tribunal failed to make a decision in stipulated time. However, Khurrum Shah and Noor Elahi assailed that orders in constitutional petition before the LHC and a three member full bench. During hearing of the case, Shahbaz was elected unopposed from PP-48 Bhakkar and he took oath as chief minister on June 8. The three-member bench was dissolved after PML-N lawyers objected to two judges on the bench that they had close relations with PML-Q leadership. The bench was comprised Justice Fazal-e-Miran Chohan, Justice Hassnat Ahmed and Justice Ahsan Bhoon. The chief justice LHC formed a new bench that disqualified Nawaz Sharif while provisionally allowed Shahbaz Sharif to continue as CM with direction to the CEC to constitute a three-member election tribunal to decide objections against his candidature. Sharifs again decided not to file an appeal in Supreme Court before the PCO judges. However, federation challenged that decision in the SC that stopped the ECE from holding by-election in NA-123. After hearing of eight months the SC on Wednesday disqualified the Sharif brothers.