KARACHI - Pakistan bowlers gave a scare or two to visiting Sri Lanka before the match ended in a draw here on Wednesday at the National Stadium. Trailing by 121 runs, Sri Lanka suffered at the hands of pacer Umar Gul and spinner Danish Kaneria in its second innings. They snared two wickets each at the fag of the contest that rocked Sri Lanka tottered at 144 for five at the end of the match. First innings double century maker Thilan Samaraweera 24 not out and wicket keeper Prasanna Jayawardene 7 not out saved the tourists from collapse. Earlier, Pakistan posted its highest ever test innings total of 756 in the first innings to cross another milestone in the test which had already seen Pakistan skipper score a triple hundred and a number of record tumbling like nine pins. Pakistan made a new record of highest innings total when it improved upon the previous best of 708 made against England at the Oval in 1987. Younis Khan decided to apply closure an hour before tea interval at 765 for six with wicket keeper Kamran Akmal posting his highest test score of 158 not out. The diminutive useful batsman who had always scored when his team needed him most got his sixth hundred, one more than his predecessor Moin Khan. Though the declaration was aimed at providing some precious bowling practice to the home bowlers but when wickets started falling the competition became lively. However the play resumed on the final morning with all eyes on Younis to see him break Brain Lara's record of 400 but he reached his career best of 313 before being bowled by Dilhara Fernando. Younis Khan was declared the man of the match. As Younis left, a number of Sri Lankan players came to him and shook hands and patted him on the back. It was great sporting gesture from the visiting team. With Akmal, Younis added 69 for the sixth wicket stand. However the respite was temporary because Yasir Arafat joined Kamran and both started to pound the visiting attack hitting seven sixes. The declaration came when they had added 169 runs at a brisk rate. Younis called the two in with one ball of Mahela Jayewardene's seventh over remaining. Pakistan gained a modest but moral boosting 121 runs lead. Not much was expected when Sri Lanka went in second time. However, things started happening when Gul in the fifth ball of the innings had Malinda Warnapura nicely caught by Akmal low for 2. Sri Lakan innings suffered another blow when a direct throw from Arafat from short mid on hit the stumps running Paranavithana out for 9. Gul had dismissed Dilshan caught in the deep by Faisal Iqbal for 8 and Sri Lanka was three down for 45. Kaneria who was brought into attack earlier than expected removed Kumar Sangakkara for 65 and Mahela Jayawardene for 22 caught by Faisal Iqbal for his second catch of the innings. Thilan Samaweera and Prasanna Jayewardene batted the remaining time. SCOREBOARD SRI LANKA 1st innings 644-7 declared (M. Jayawardene 240, T. Samaraweera 231, K. Sangakkara 70, M. Warnapura 59; Danish Kaneria 3-170) PAKISTAN 1st innings: (overnight 574-5) Khurram Manzoor c P. Jaya'dene b Mendis 27 Salman Butt c M. Jayawardene b Murali 23 Younis Khan b Fernando 313 Shoaib Malik run out 56 Misbah-ul-Haq lbw b Fernando 42 Faisal Iqbal lbw b M. Jayawardene 57 Kamran Akmal not out 158 Yasir Arafat not out 50 EXTRAS: (b5, lb11, nb18, w5) 39 TOTAL: (for six wkts decl) 765 Fall of wickets: 1-44 (Butt), 2-78 (Manzoor), 3-227 (Malik), 4-357 (Haq) 5-531 (Iqbal), 6-596 (Younis). BOWLING: Vaas 36-10-66-0 (8nb) Fernando 39-2-124-2 (7nb, 1w) Mendis 59-14-157-1 (3nb, 4w) Muralitharan 65-14-172-1 Dilshan 19-3-82-0 Paranavitana 5-0-33-0 Sangakkara 10-0-34-0 M. Jayawardene 6.5-0-41-1 Warnapura 9-0-40-0 Overs: 248.5 SRI LANKA 2nd innings: N. Paranavitana run out 9 M. Warnapura c Akmal b Gul 2 K. Sangakkara lbw b Kaneria 65 T. Dilshan c Iqbal b Gul 8 M. Jayawardene c Iqbal b Kaneria 22 T. Samaraweera not out 24 P. Jayawardene not out 7 EXTRAS: (nb7) 7 TOTAL: (for five wkts) 144 Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Warnapura), 2-32 (Paranavitana), 3-45 (Dilshan), 4-103 (M. Jayawardene), 5-120 (Sangakkara) BOWLING: Gul 9-1-41-2 (4nb) Sohail 6-0-33-0 Arafat 6-0-32-0 (1nb) Kaneria 9-1-35-2 Malik 1-0-3-0 (2nb) Overs: 31 Result: Drawn Toss: Sri Lanka Umpires: Simon Taufel (AUS), Steve Davis (AUS) TV umpire: Zamir Haider (PAK) ICC match referee: Chris Broad (ENG).