The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Saturday issued the final list of candidates for the presidential election to be held on Tuesday (July 30).

According to an ECP notification, Mamnoon Hussain of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Justice (retired) Wajihuddin of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf are in the run for the coveted slot.

The nomination papers of three candidates were accepted on Friday by Election Commissioner Justice (retd) Fakhruddin G Ibrahim out of  total 23. The nomination papers of 19 aspirants were rejected on various grounds.                                                                             

The papers of Mamnoon Hussain, Justice (retd) Wajihuddin and Iqbal Zafar Jhagra were accepted. Now two candidates are in the run after withdrawal of PML-N's covering candidate Iqbal Zafar Jhagra on Saturday.

Polling to elect the new head of state will be held at the Parliament House and the four provincial assemblies on Tuesday.                                    

It may be mentioned that the Pakistan People's Party (PPP) had announced to boycott the presidential election over schedule change. The Election Commission has directed for the printing of ballot papers.