ISLAMABAD - A constitutional petition has been filed in the Supreme Court on Monday for initiating contempt of court against former president Pervez Musharraf and others for imposing emergency on November 3, 2007 in violation of the apex court order passed on the same day. Petitioner Muhammad Ilyas Mian Advocate filed the petition through his counsel Ikram Chaudhry Advocate under Article 204 of the Constitution read with Section 3 and 4 of the Contempt of Court Ordinance 2003. Former president Musharraf, former prime minister Shaukat Aziz, former chief justice of Pakistan Justice (Retd) Abdul Hameed Dogar, former interior minister Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao and former law secretary Mansoor Ahmed have been made respondents in the petition. The petitioner prayed to the court to initiate contempt of court proceedings against Musharraf and all other respondents for imposing and supporting emergency rule on November 3, 2007 in violation of the interim order of a seven-member bench of the apex court passed on the same day, which had restrained the promulgation of PCO. The petitioner has contended that Musharraf and other respondents had deliberately ignored the courts order while imposing emergency. The said order had also barred then president and prime minister from taking any action contrary to the independence of judiciary. The same order had also restrained all civil and military authorities from acting on PC0 and administering fresh oath to the chief justice and other judges of the Supreme Court and high courts, the petitioner contended. In these circumstances, the promulgation of PCO and imposition of emergency amounted to the contempt of court, as the respondents had undermined the dignity of the court by overthrowing its order and forcibly imposing emergency, the petition states.