ISLAMABAD - Newly constituted standing committees of National Assembly would likely meet some time next week to elect chairmen. The Speaker under Rule 225 of National Assembly Rules and Procedures would convene the maiden meeting of these committees. In all the chairmen of some 32 committees would be elected while the chairmanship of Standing Committee on Finance would rest with speaker while deputy speaker would be the chairman of Standing Committee on House and Library.

Chairmanship of 18 committees is likely to be given to PML-N, some four committees, including Public Accounts Committee would function under the head of PPP while three committees each would be headed by PTI and MQM. Similarly chairmanship of two committees would go to JUI-F and one to PML-F.