LAHORE - Twelve members of provincial assembly (MPAs) have not yet filed income tax returns even after two and a half months of their suspension by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

On October 16, the ECP had suspended as many as 121 Punjab non-filing MPAs. At least 109 of the total returned to their seats after complying with the orders however, twelve seem to be above and beyond comprehension of the law.

The members whose membership was suspended include nine of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) while three of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

READ MORE: The true north

PTI’s Sibtain Khan, Abdul Majeed Khan Niazi, Najeebullah Nizai while PML-N’s Naeemullah Gul, Ilyas Ansari, Imtiaz Lali, Nawabzada Haider, Khurram Ijaz Chattha, Rana Mehmudul Hasan, Malik Ahmed Yar, Muhammad Zeeshan and Mina Amaldar are yet to file tax.

The suspended MPs can neither participate in meeting of any standing committee nor attend session.