The members of High Court Bar Association Multan elected Sheikh Jamshed Hayat as their president for the term 2016-17 in the annual elections held here the other day. He defeated Sher Zaman Qureshi with a margin of 510 votes. Mr Hayat got 2103 votes while his rival could get 1593.

Similarly, Muhammad Siddiq Dogar and Taqdees Zahida were face to face for the Vice President seat and Siddiq Dogar won the office. There was a contest between Chaudhry Umar Hayat and Muhammad Amir khan Bhutta for the General Secretary office which was won by Ch Umar.

For Finance Secretary seat, Muhammad Ataul Munim and Mian Muhammad Khalid Naem contested and counting was underway till filing of this report.

Earlier, seven members of executive council and candidate for the library secretary seat were elected unopposed. They included Farzana Kausar Library Secretary and members of executive council - Fakhar Raza, Ajmal Malana, Farrukh Aziz, Sibghatul Hasnain, Shamasul Haq Dogar, Shakil Chaudhry, Abdul Saleem and Arshad Javed. The voting took place in peaceful atmosphere as no untoward incident took place. The election commission had set up 20 polling booths to facilitate 6524 voters. Strict security arrangements were made on this occasion. In Ahmedpur East, Mian Nawazish Ali Peerzada, Shabbir Ahmed Bhutta and Rao Nasir Mehmood were elected as President, Vice President and General Secretary respectively of the High Court Bar Association Bahawalpur. According to results of the annual election, Mian Nawazish Ali Peerzada obtained 999 votes, while his rival candidates Muhammad Shafi Tariq and Salim Aftab got 660 and 51 votes respectively. Similarly Rao Nasar Mehmood defeated his rival Mehar Ahmed Sher Kathia in straight contest and elected as General Secretary High Court Bar Association. Rao Nasir Mehmood got 1116 votes while Mehar Ahmed Sher Kathia obtained 564 votes.

For the seat of Vice President (Bahawalpur) Shabbir Ahmed Bhutta, and on the seat of Vice President (Rahim Yar Khan) Qurban Baloch were elected.

Moreover, Khalida Rafique, Farooq Haider and Mohsin Rasheed were also declared unopposed as joint Secretary, finance Secretary and Auditor respectively of the High Court Bar association Bahawalpur.