LAHORE – The Chaudhry Nazir Ahmad Panel clean sweep the elections of the Lahore Akhbar Farosh Union (Newspaper Sellers’ Union) held on Sunday and Chaudhry Nazir Ahmad was elected as the president.

The victorious Chaudhry Nazir Ahmad Panel secured 573 votes, while the Malik Muzaffar Panel could secure only 285 votes. The polling began at 8:00am and continued until 6:00pm. The total registered voters numbered 1,410.

Among elected office-bearers of the union include: Tariq Hanif (senior vice president), Waris Naqvi (vice president), Yasin Babar (general secretary), Imtiaz Awan (joint secretary), Malik Tanveer (finance secretary), Omer Farooq (secretary information) and Zubair Shaukat (office secretary).

A four-member committee headed by Akhbar Farosh Union Federal Secretary Tikka Khan supervised the election process, while Election Board General Secretary Muhammad Ashfaq Malik assisted him.

Rawalpindi Akhbar Farosh Union President Aziz Satti, General Secretary Aqeel Abassi and office-bearers of the Gujranwala Akhbar Farosh Union were also present during the election process. Chaudhry Nazir Ahmad has been congratulated by people from all walks of life on his election as the president.