MIRPUR (AJK) - The PML-N Friday secured three out of five reserved seats for women in AJK Legislative Assembly (AJKLA).

PML-N’s Sehrish Qamar, Faiza Imtiaz and Naseema Khatoon while PPP’s Shazia Akbar and Jamaat-e-Islami Riffat Nazir won the seats in the election held in Muzaffarabad on Friday.

AJK JI’s Riffat Nazir come to the slot under the electoral alliance and seat adjustment reached between the PML-N and the JI in the recent general elections in AJK.

Eight reserved seats in the AJK Legislative Assembly including five meant for women and one each for technocrats, Ulema/mashaikh and overseas Kashmiris have been filled in through the Electoral College comprising 41 directly-elected members of the house.


The newly-elected members of the AJK Legislative Assembly will take oath of their office on Saturday (today) at the session of the Legislature to be held in  Muzaffarabad, official sources said. The newly-elected law makers will elect Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, lower house of the AJK Parliament.

The top PML-N leadership has nominated Shah Ghulam Qadir and Sardar Farooq Ahmed Tahir as candidates of the party for the slot of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the AJK LA respectively. The party’s leadership made the decision after consultation with Raja FArooq Haider Khan, the AJK prime minister designate.