RAWALPINDI – Helped by a breath-taking 59 from Flamboyant opener Imran Nazir Sialkot Stallions crush defending Super-8 Twenty20 Champions Rawalpindi Rams by 7 wickets in the last group B match here on Friday.

Nazir completed his half century in only 26 balls, with the help of five fours and four huge sixes. Shakeel Ansar 21 and Shoaib Malik 20 were the other runs contributors for Sialkot as they achieved the 122 target in only 15.3 overs. For Rawalpindi Mu Nawaz took 2 for 28 and Sohail Tanveer chipped in with 1 for 30.

Rawalpindi fail to win even a single group match losing to all opponents, thus becoming the only winless team of the event.

In the first semi-final to be played today Lahore Lions will face Karachi Dolphins, the match will start at 4:00pm, while Sialkot Stallions will be in action against Peshawar Panthers, the second semi-final will start at 8:00pm.

Earlier, Rawalpindi Rams openers once again failed to provide there team a solid start. Hammad Azam and skipper Sohail Tanveer both scored 24 runs each, while Awais Zia and Umar Amin contribute 20 each as Rams finished the innings at 121 for the loss of 9 wickets. Left arm spinner Raza Hasan grabbed 3 wickets in his last over to further dampen Rams hopes of posting a reasonable total on the board. Raza finished with 3 for 20 while Umaid Asif and Rana Navedul Hasan shared two wickets each by giving away 26 and 29 runs respectively while Shoaib Malik finished with 1 for 8.

In the first match of the day, Asad Shafiq’s superb knock of 58 guided Karachi Dolphins to a five-wicket victory over Lahore Eagles to book place in the semi-finals. Lahore Eagles, batting first, scored 148 runs for the loss of eight wickets in allotted overs. Imran Farhat hit 41 runs while skipper Taufiq Umar made 30 and Azhar Ali 23. Haris Ayaz and Roman Raees picked up two wickets each.

Needing 149 runs for victory, Karachi achieved the target in 18.1 overs for the loss of five wickets. Asad played a match-winning innings of 58 studied with six boundaries while Sheharyar Ghani made unbeaten 44 laced with five fours and one six. For Lahore Eagles, Mustafa Iqbal claimed three wickets for 26 runs while Taufiq Umar and Emmad Ali got one wicket each.