KARACHI – Various political and religious parties are eyeing, with confidence, the National Assembly seat NA-250 of Karachi and it become a hot cake for all the contenders contesting from the said constituency.

NA-250 considers favorite among political parties-Pakistan Peoples Party PPP, Muttahida Quami Movement, Pakistan Muslim Leaque Nawaz PML-N, Jammat-e-Islami JI, Sunni Tehreek Pakistan, Tehreek-e-Insaf, Afia Movement, All Pakistan Muslim League, claimed their stake in the constituency.

It is pertinent to mention here that the constituency is divided between the posh area and slum areas where multi-ethnic people have been residing.

The former president General (r) Pervez Musharraf on his return to Pakistan planned to contest the election form NA-250.

Meanwhile, Dr Fauzia Siddiqui, sister of Dr Aafia Siddiqui, on Saturday filed nomination papers on NA-250 Karachi to contest polls against Musharraf.

Talking to The Nation, Fauzia said that contesting election was not about the Dr Aafia issue despite against the model dictator of Pakistan Musharraf.

She further added someone has to take stand against Musharraf, though she did by fielding the polls against him.

Answering a question, she said that Jammat-e-Islami and Muttahida Qaumi Movement have supported our family over the release of the Dr Aafia, adding she is not contesting election against any political or religious party.

She said at this crucial time of polls the real face of Musharraf was fully unveiled before the people and let us see the response of the democratic forces.

According to the fresh redrawing by the Election Commission of Pakistan, various number of the constituencies have been shifted, including 17, 22 to 26 and Cantt 1 and 2.

Now the NA-250 constituency will comprise the areas of City Railways Colony, Gari Khata, Saddar, Civil Lines, Hijrat Colony, Clifton, Shah Rasool Colony, Khekashan, Doli Khata, Bizerta Lines, Cantt Railway Colony, Dehli Colony, Defence Phase V, VI, VII and VIII, and Qayyumabad.

In the round of 2008 election NA-250 MQM‘s Khushbakht Shujaat with 52,045 votes defeated PPP’s Dr Mirza Ikhtiar Baig who got 44,412 votes, while PML-N’s Saleem Zia got 3,480 votes and Captain Haleem Ahmed Siddiqui who contest as an independent candidate got 1,333.

In 2002 polls, MMA’s Abdul Sattar Afghani won the seat scoring 21,462 votes defeating MQM’s Nasreen Jalil who got 19414 votes.

Similarly political candidates including PPP’s Mirza Ikhtiar Baig got 12,105 votes, PML’s Mamnoon Hussain got 5,565 votes, PTI’s Syed Kamal Shah got 3,176 votes and Sunni Tehreek’s Syed Kamal Shah got 1226 votes in election round of 2002.

It is worth mentioning here that MQM would nominate Khushbakhat once again for the said ‘hot’ seat.

HAROON FAROOKI INDUCTED IN SINDH CARETAKER CABINET: Businessmen Group Vice Chairman and former President Karachi Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Haroon Farooki has been inductI, Tahir Khaliq, Zubair Motiwala, Anjum Nisar, President Karachi Chamber of Commerce and Industry Haroon Agar, Senior Vice President Shamim Firpo, Vice President Nasir Mehmood, Managing Committee Members of KCCI and BMGians have felicitated Haroon Farooki on his appointment as the Advisor in the caretaker provincial cabinet of Sindh.

They also congratulated Sindh Governor Dr Ishratul Ebad Khan, and the caretaker Chief Minister of Sindh Justice (r) Zahid Qurban Alvi for appointing Haroon Farooki as the Advisor in the Caretaker Sindh Cabinet, KCCI statement said.