MULTAN - Though not in the National Assembly constituencies, the PML-N is likely to face a storm in almost all provincial assembly constituencies of Multan from within its own ranks in terms of revolt by aspirants of tickets, The Nation has learnt.

There are at least 10 provincial constituencies where the mutineers have launched their elections campaign parallel to that of the ones whom the party has given a go-ahead signal.

Political analysts are of the opinion that the PML-N leadership already had the realization of this situation and the oath administered to all applicants for party tickets by Mian Nawaz Sharif during a recent convention in Lahore was to avert the situation. The applicants for party tickets were asked to take oath that they would abide by the party policy and wholeheartedly support the candidate given party ticket.

The analysis of different provincial assembly constituencies depicts an interesting picture. The party has given okay nod to former MPA Amir Saeed Ansari in PP-195. However, another active party worker namely Imran Liaqat, who faced over a dozen cases and jails during Musharraf regime, looks determined to contest elections. Both the candidates run their campaigns while claiming party backing.

In PP-196, Ch Abdul Waheed Arrain was elected MPA on PML-N ticket on 2008. He is party's prospective candidate since the party has decided not to replace the winners of last elections with any new face. However, an old worker and a well-known face of the constituency Haji Altaf Baloch has launched an active campaign against Ch Abdul Waheed Arrain, declaring that he would contest independently if the party refused ticket.

The only provincial minister Multan district had was Haji Ehsan Uddin Qureshi, who got elected from PP-197. He is challenged by a newcomer Wajid Shaukat, who claims to be the district president of PML-N Youth Wing.

The PP-198 was won by Malik Amir Dogar of PPPP. He defeated Mian Shahzad Maqbool Bhutta of PML-N with a narrow margin. Mr. Bhutta kept party's flag floating in the constituency during last five year but now he is denied ticket. The constituency is left open by the party as the deal between PTI leader former federal minister Haji Sikandar Hayat Bosan and PML-N is in pipeline. Mr. Bosan demands all three seats-NA-151 and the two provincial constituencies PP-198 and 200 and if the deal is finalised Shahzad Maqbool Bhutta is ready to contest independently.

The PML-N had given ticket to Muhammad Ali Khokhar from PP-199 in 2008 elections. Now a former town nazim from the same constituency Makhdoom Abbas Akbar Moni Shah has joined the PML-N and he is given ticket. It is likely that, besides PPPP candidate, he will face Muhammad Ali Khokhar.

The PML-N has also left PP-200. Former MPA from this constituency Malik Ahmad Hussain Dehar, who was also district coordinator of PPPP, has joined the PML-N and he is the strongest candidate for the ticket. The situation has offended many leaders of PML-N like Ashiq Shijra.

The situation in PP-201, 202, 203 and 204 is not different from other constituencies. The PP-201 ticket is likely to go to Mazhar Abbas Raan. If it happens former ticket holder Malik Abbas Raan will contest elections against him. Similarly, Binyamin Sajid and Rana Ishtiaq will be the mutineers in PP-202 and 203 respectively. The PML-N has given ticket to former MPA Rana Ijaz Noon in PP-204 while Mujahid Ali Shah, cousin of former senator Syed Javed Ali Shah, who have just rejoined the PML-N, has also deposited his nomination papers and started campaign.